University of California

Endowment Value: $10.8 billion (June 2017)

University of California is a public university system in California. It has 10 campuses located in Berkeley, Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Merced, Riverside, San Diego, San Francisco, Santa Barbara, and Santa Cruz. The Office of the Chief Investment Officer of the Regents manages the entire UC system’s endowment of $10.8 billion, as well as all of its other assets, which combined total to $109.8 billion.

The UC System and/or Individual Campuses are a participant or member of the following Initiatives & Commitments: 

Other Sustainable Investing Practices: 

* In 2015, UC announced selling direct holdings in coal-mining and oil-sands-focused companies, but as the CIO Jagdeep Bachher explained in an op-ed piece in the San Francisco Chronicle, this was not part of a blanket divestment policy

** UC has announced a commitment to invest $1 billion over five years in climate change solutions.

*** UC has announced various commitments to sustainable investment practices, including its Sustainable Investing Framework, and is developing more formal sustainable investment policies.



UC Administration to Reinvest $500 Million Away from Fossil Fuels, UCSD Guardian, April 30, 2018

UC investment plan seeks solutions to climate change, San Francisco Chronicle, September 10, 2015

Get up to date IEN News

Sign up for our Newsletters