University of Dayton

The University of Dayton is a private Roman Catholic research university located in Dayton, Ohio. It has an endowment of $518.2 million. In 2014, the board of trustees at the University of Dayton unanimously voted to divest from coal and fossil fuels.  At the time of the announcement, Dayton was the largest university to divest from fossil fuels. Daniel J. Curran, president of the University of Dayton, cited the necessity of aligning investments with the university’s values as the reason for divestment, stating “Our Marianist values of leadership and service to humanity call upon us to act on these principles and serve as a catalyst for civil discussion and positive change that benefits our planet.”


The University of Dayton is a participant or member of the following Initiatives & Commitments: 

  • IEN Founding Member (2016)
  • AASHE STARS: Yes, Silver
  • ACUPCC: Yes
  • Billion Dollar Green Challenge: Yes
  • CDP: No
  • Committee on Investor Responsibility: No
  • Divestment Goal: Yes
  • INCR: No
  • Montreal Carbon Pledge: No
  • Sustainable Investment Fund: No
  • Sustainable Investment Policy: No
  • Principles for Responsible Investment: No