University of Southern Maine

University of Southern Maine

Endowment Value: $39.4 million (2020)

The University of Southern Maine (USM) is a multi-campus public university and part of the University of Maine System. The three campuses are located in Portland, Gorham, and Lewiston. Approximately 7,800 students attend USM across these three campuses. The Office of Sustainability works at all three campuses to promote sustainable living for students and sustainable work for faculty and staff. UMS’s investments are overseen by the Investment Committee.

In 2017, USM released a comprehensive campus-wide sustainability strategic plan to achieve the University’s goal of becoming carbon neutral by 2040, a goal undertaken as a signatory to American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC).

USM also committed to divesting from coal in 2014, an accomplishment largely attributed to efforts by the student-faculty led Divest UMaine.

The University of Southern Maine is a participant or member of the following Initiatives & Commitments: 

  • IEN Member (2017)
  • ACUPCC: Yes, Climate Neutral by 2040
  • Billion Dollar Green Challenge: No
  • CDP: No
  • Committee on Investor Responsibility: No
  • Divestment Goal: Yes, divestment from coal
  • INCR: No
  • Montreal Carbon Pledge: No
  • Sustainable Investment Fund: No
  • Sustainable Investment Policy: Yes*
  • Principles for Responsible Investment: No

Other Sustainable Investing Practices and Resources:


*USM is included in the broader University of Maine System

Get up to date IEN News

Sign up for our Newsletters